top of page
  • David R. Stroup

Old Jinan: The Heart of the City of Springs

While much of my recent attention on this blog has been turned toward describing how Jinan rapdily pushes ahead with urban renewal measures that bring new structures, public spaces, and patterns of life to the city, I thought I might take a moment to give you a glimpse of the areas of town that remain very much the same. I speak, of course, of Old Jinan, the collection of single story plaster and brick homes that date mostly from the Qing Dynasty, located at the heart of the city nearby its famous springs. It's a part of town about which I write frequently. However, I realize that I've yet to post any photos or give a good feeling for just what kind of place I'm talking about when I refer to the city's old core.

Old Jinan's narrow lanes hide a lot of truly wonderful places. Every time I wander around in the alleyways in this part of the city, I end up somewhere that I've never been before. I marvel at the fact that, even after all of my time here, I still have so much to learn about this city. So, without further delay, is a collection of my favorite photos from this lovely slice of the city. I'll be back with more substantive content soon enough, but for now, enjoy the sites of the old city.

61 views0 comments
bottom of page